The Right Time to Take Your Leap

When Forbes contributor Alan Hall discussed the national trend toward entrepreneurship in his recent article, Kiss Your Boss Goodbye. It’s Time to Be An Entrepreneur, he apparently touched a collective nerve among his readers.

Most of the 50+ comments were positive responses to Hall’s guidelines for properly organizing your own company. Some readers shared their eureka moment when they decided to quit their jobs, and take a leap of faith to pursue their entrepreneurial dreams.

In some instances, Forbes.com writers will call out member comments they find particularly interesting. Here is one of those comments, posted by Jonathancanada.

In his comment on Forbes.com, Jonathancanada says: I can say that I did take the leap. I spent five years with 3 promotions into management at a company that was otherwise not growing. I have a Marketing Management degree. When I completed my accounting designation, I quit.

I felt like my new manager was actually pushing me back. He wanted to do the fun parts of my job on his own, which were tasks that I had worked very hard to attain. He ignored the work I did, started meetings with other managers that were my responsibility, and wouldn’t even keep me in the loop.

I had analysts and Project Managers getting mad at me, because I couldn’t tell them the answer. It was embarrassing yet him, as a Senior Manager, I could do nothing about it. Until I quit.

I had been saying since I was 20 that what I wanted was to be an entrepreneur. And here I was sitting, somewhere around middle management, at 29. And I began to hate my employer. I spent the last couple months doing absolutely nothing. I started skipping work. I was building a wall to protect myself and my esteem. I was very well-respected and many considered me senior, even though I was young. I had good relationships with everyone.

So I quit. I emailed my boss my letter.

I had no business. But I knew that with my background, that I respond positively to stress and in this manner, it would force me to choose and invest. And I did. I bootstrapped myself, cut my expenses and began to work my butt off.

My first business I rode for 6 months. I managed to pull in over $100,000 revenue in that time and with a 60 percent profit margin. Not bad for a startup that didn’t even have a website. It was all sales and part-time.

During that business, I hired a couple of developers to start another project. They had great resumes but I found that they were slow, like most devs. I had wished they were under my roof so I could have them full-time. While I had been expert in creating the business requirements behind apps, and dealing with design and workflow, I had a team of over 100 devs so I never needed to know the code. I could call up companies like Microsoft and get support. But on your own it is different. You are a nobody. So, great leading edge devs won’t work for you unless you pay them more than you can afford.

So I began to learn code. And boy, accountants / math minded people should really get more in to code. I can create way better things than the devs I worked with ever could, although they might produce something that is more syntactically correct.

Now I’m nearing the completion of this project, nearly 1 year later. It’s been exhausting. Cruel. Harder than I’ve ever imagined. But I’m going to do it.

Now, I take with me not only my products, but also my resume is much better. I believe now I could serve upper management better than I could have ever before. My work ethic is unmatched. My skills are second to none. And it is all because I took the leap.

My advice to entrepreneurs is to exercise and change your diet. It’s going to be exhausting. Spend at least one hour a day walking, biking or hiking. Eat all-natural foods. Your mind will thank you when bad luck comes your way, because as a nobody, bad luck happens all the time. As a healthy entrepreneur, you will stay happy even when you shouldn’t be. That’s my biggest advice.

Leave a Reply

